Sniffed me out like I was Tanqueray

10-ginOn a recent trip through DutyFreeland at Auckland airport I bought myself a long-promised litre bottle of Tanqueray 10 gin. Of course, it’s marketed as a premium gin and it’s not cheap, but I think it was worth it.

It’s a very herbaceous gin, with strong hints of citrus. The main botanicals are juniper, angelica and coriander. It’s a London gin, but made in Scotland. The Tanqueray family apparently took part in the crusades under Richard the Lion Heart. Oh well, not everyone’s perfect.

Mixed at 2-1 with Martini vermouth (a little sweeter than some) it made a very good Friday night domestic.

Some serious martini drinkers will probably think I’m a philistine for mixing at 2-1 and I don’t always, but this was my decision at the time.  I will try different versions now that I had the intitial “settler”.

The other question is whether Tanqueray 10 is better than Bombay Sapphire. After only one Tanqueray experience I probably should not rush to judgment, but on a first taste, the citrus hints of the 10 are hard to fault. At the same time the mystique of 10 is probably only marketing hype. The “secret” recipe known only to four people. Bullshit, let’s not forget that distilling gin – even “four times” as 10 claims – is still an industrial process.

Anyway, I’m sure I’ll come back to this with more comparisions as I slowly make my way down the bottle. Perhaps this evening I will try this recipe Perfect 10, with some Clevedon oysters. My only problem is that I hate wasting the vermouth by throwing it out during the building process. Oh well, in the name of science, I have no choice.

Perfect 10

    Tanqueray No. 10 Gin
    Martinni & Rossi Vermouth
    Your favorite garnish

Shaken:
Start by chilling your martini glass (Having them chilled in the freezer makes it easier). Shake 4 oz Tanqueray No. 10 Gin with ice for anywhere between 6-10 seconds. Add a shot of vermouth to your martini glass, give it a stir to coat the glass and then pour it out. Strain the Tanqueray No. 10 gin into your prepared martini glass and serve immediatly.

Stirred:
Chill your martini glass, shake one shot vermouth with 2-3 cubes of ice and pour the vermouth out. Put the Vermouth coated ice into your martini glass and pour in the Tanqueray No. 10 Gin to your liking.

Garnish either way with your favorite garnish, Olives for me.

Finally, a salute to Amy. “You know I’m no good”

Meet you downstairs in the bar and hurt

Your rolled up sleeves in your skull t-shirt

You say what did you do with him today?

And sniffed me out like I was Tanqueray.

I wanted to link to the official Amy version of this song from YouTube, but embedding is disabled “by request”, so I guess we’re getting into that whole copyright shit here, but there’s another version that still allows linking, so here it is. This is live, so it’s pretty cool

6 Responses to Sniffed me out like I was Tanqueray

  1. [...] I’m sitting in the dining room with a Perfect 10 and some Clevedon oysters, at the moment we’re about 8 tracks into this afternoon’s [...]

  2. Oregono says:

    The Perfect 10? Depends on how dry you like your martinis. The dryest recipe I know of involves waving your bottle of Noilly Prat over your glass of chilled gin with olive and then bowing towards France. Only for lovers of gently pickled olives of course.

    Salut!

  3. AKJACK says:

    Skip the vermouth entirely. Squeeze a lime wedge into the gin for shaking. Garnish with lime. Great citrus flavor.

  4. rob says:

    Agree with AKJACK…forego the vermouth… a Ranelagh slug (3 fingers) of Hendricks over ice and a slice of fresh cucumber, and lime-wedge if you’re really kinky, add some salubriously sophisticated sounds, and you’re away.

    [EM: always goes well with Martini Music]
    Try these two shoes for size:

  5. [...] But I’m doing things a little differently this weekend. I had another message recently from AKJACK suggesting I try my gin straight, over ice with a squeeze of lime juice. Rob also chimed in suggesting Hendricks over ice with a slice of cucumber. Yep, seems I have to broaden my horizons a little. [Tanqueray] [...]

  6. Anonymous says:

    Love, love, love the recipe, but needs a different name as there is no vodka in the martini (perfect martini is a mixture of gin and vodka). I just found out about this gin today as I am a Bombay fan, not too fond of Tanq, but my big bro was in town and was raving about Tanq 10. Saw your post which mentioned ‘better than Bombay Sapphire?’ totally caught my eye. Well, I must say, as soon as I get clearance from my surgeon, I am running to the liquor store for some Tanq 10! Great post! Also, Hendricks over cucumber…that would have been tasty today in our 85 degree weather!!!! Another drink to try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,427 other followers

